Migration, Family Ties and Protection – Unravelling the Secret Life of Great White Sharks

Great White Mystery

Great White Mystery is a scientific research project led by Dr Mauricio Hoyos, who wants to obtain more detailed knowledge about the migrations of Great White Sharks with the help of new tags. With these results, the aim is to establish no-fishing zones in cooperation with certain institutions.

The Great White Shark (Carcharodon carcharias), the functional apex of many marine food webs, is native to the cool coastal waters and the vastness of the open ocean. With an average length of 4.5 to 6.5 m, it is one of the largest predatory fish in the oceans.

The IUCN  classifies the species as worldwide “Vulnerable”, in some regions even as “Critically Endangered”. Population numbers are continuously declining, a re-classification in the next assessment is highly likely. The most significant threats to Great Whites and other pelagic shark species are intentional fishing and high rates of by-catch and accidental entanglement. The increasing adverse effects of rising water temperature due to climate change impact the already dwindling population numbers even further. 

Restrictions for landings and trade, methods to reduce by-catch, and targeted implementation of protection zones are essential for the worldwide protection of the species. To use these measures most effective, scientists need to understand the particular demands posed by the animals biology and life history. Although Great White Sharks are among the largest predators of the oceans, science knows surprisingly little about them. Only in recent decades have we started to fill these gaps in knowledge through advances in technology and genetic testing

 

A crucial region for shark research is the Island of Guadalupe — declared a biosphere
reserve in 2005 – 240 km off the coast of Baja California, Mexico. An abundance of marine life is
found here, mainly due to the favourable location in the nutrient-rich waters of the California Current. The rugged shores also house large breeding colonies of three different seal species. This abundance of prey is probably one of the main reasons for the seasonal aggregations of Great White Sharks. The annual migration routes lead from the nursery grounds along the Pacific West coast to Guadalupe. Population studies show that young males start arriving in great numbers from the beginning of July. From September onwards, the number of females increases sharply. 

The waters of the protected area are considered — along with the White Shark Café — to
be one of the most crucial aggregation sites for Great Whites in the Eastern Pacific. Both adults and juveniles show strong site and migration fidelity. Genetically, the local population is distinct from aggregations off the coasts of Australia and South Africa. Guadalupe is ideal for marine biologists and an ever-growing ecotourism industry to observe the animals, mainly thanks to outstanding visibility and robust seasonal predictability. 

An international research team led by marine biologist Dr Mauricio Hoyos uses the latest technology in telemetry and genetic analysis to solve the mysteries that still surround Great White Sharks, especially their life history and behaviour. These valuable findings are undoubtedly advancing our understanding of one of the greatest marine predators of our time. They also significantly contribute to a more effective and successful protection of Great Whites in Mexico and the rest of the world.

Background information about the project

Objectives

Sharkproject has been specifically supporting Dr Hoyos' research work since 2015. The funds provided are used to purchase MiniSur (CAT's Fincams) and VMT tags (Vemco Mobile Transceiver) which are used for population studies.

The overall objectives of the project are: 

  • To establish accurate migration and residency patterns of the local population through the provided MiniSur and VMTs. 
  • To increase the understanding of inter- (shark/prey) and intraspecific (shark/shark) interactions.
  • The use of the data to expand protection zones along migration routes and collection points. 

Duration

The research on the behaviour and migration patterns of Great White Sharks is ongoing. There are currently no plans to end this project.

To contain the COVID-19 pandemic, travel to the region was temporarily banned, leading to delays in data collection. Sharkproject expects to resume research in 2022. 

Scientists

Dr Mauricio Hoyos – Scientific Director. The research focus of the scientist (based in La Paz, Mexico) includes movement patterns and interactions of different shark species. Since 2005, he has concentrated on population analyses of White Sharks in the North Pacific, especially in the biosphere area around Guadalupe.

Dr Yannis Papastamatiou – Technical Director. As an expert in telemetry and tagging, the marine biologist (based in Florida, USA) supports various projects with a focus on behavioural and migration research. His findings contribute massively to the expansion of protection zones along migration routes of pelagic shark species.

Fred Buyle – The well-known free diver supports Dr Hoyos' team in attaching satellite tags and collecting DNA samples from great white sharks. His extensive hands-on experience and skills allow him to approach the animals in a unique way.

Supporters and sponsors

The Sharkproject team was generously supported with donations during the preparations and realization of the various Shark Night events. We want to thank in particular: 

MARES – just add water, SEACAM, Servotel, Kubicek Fördertechnik GmbH, Reisebüro fish&trips, Unterwasserkamera.at, Printshop and Chris Benz.  

Servotel and Kubicek Fördertechnik GmbH provided an additional VMT tag for Dr Hoyos. 

Location

Guadalupe is a small island of volcanic origin off the west coast of Mexico. The dramatic landscape is home to numerous endemic plants and bird species; many of them endangered.

The isolated location in the otherwise turbulent and current-rich Pacific Ocean makes Guadalupe a hotspot of biodiversity. Several seal and sea lion species can be found along the protected coasts.

Not least because of this, Great White Sharks are found here in large numbers seasonally. Meanwhile, the region is considered one of their main aggregation sites in the North Pacific.

Travels

Tourist trips to the protected zones are highly regulated and only possible after consultation with the local government. Only a limited number of liveaboards are permitted per year; entering the island is generally prohibited. The travel season runs from July to November.

Due to the still uncertain situation caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, no Sharkproject accompanied trips are currently planned. We will keep you informed when new dates for Guadalupe are fixed.

Technical information

Telemetry

Animal telemetry studies allow scientists to collect a variety of information using acoustic or satellite-based sensors called tags. They are mainly used to make migration patterns of pelagic species visible. The resulting movement maps allow definitive conclusions to be drawn about the animals' way of life and history.

Not only horizontal migrations are made visible by the tags, but also the notoriously difficult-to-trace vertical movements of marine species. For example, we now know that male Great White Sharks dive up to 1,200 metres off Guadalupe, while females stay much shallower. Each of these pieces of information is a small mosaic piece in the picture of “shark as mystery” – the increasingly precise tagging technologies allow us to complete this picture bit by bit.

For a long time, it was assumed that sharks have a very limited social structure; the image of the shark as a loner persists. Here, too, the tag data are the basis for a change in our understanding of the animals. Intensity and length of inter- and intraspecific interactions are recorded, revealing a complex picture of mating behaviour, social hierarchies and prey interactions.

Telemetry studies around the world have provided important insights into the movement and behavioural ecology of sharks. This knowledge now forms the basis for developing effective conservation strategies for these endangered animals. For example, the tagging studies allowed the expansion of the protection zones for white sharks in the North Pacific. Not only their breeding grounds off the coasts of North America are now protected, but also their aggregation points off Guadalupe.

Used Tags and technologies

Two types of sensors are used in the research of Guadalupe: VEMCO Mobile Transceiver (VMT) and Sonotronics MiniSUR.

The VEMCO Mobile Transceiver (VMT) is a hybrid between a transmitter and receiver, so it can not only send data to stations, but also receive data from them. Communication is possible with all common VEMCO-coded devices, and transmitters from other manufacturers can also be registered.

The detection range varies from a few 100 metres in coastal waters to 1 kilometre in the open ocean. The VMT can operate at depths up to 1000 m and is suitable for studies in deep water environments.

In the North Pacific, there are many fixed receiver stations as well as numerous stationary objects such as FADs or buoys equipped with VEMCO-coded transmitters. This allows conclusions to be drawn about migration routes and the respective residence times of the sharks. Information on the interaction with other tagged animals is also stored. This allows researchers to better understand the social structures of sharks.

Sonotronic's Miniature Submersible Ultrasonic Receiver (MiniSUR) tags were also equipped with underwater cameras (FinCams) to collect more information about the behaviour of great white sharks off Guadalupe. Image data is mainly used to identify untagged sharks and prey.

Tagging procedure

Great White Sharks are lured to the research boats using bait. Depending on the type, the tags are attached directly from the boat or by free divers in the water. Both types are anchored to the dorsal fin of the animal; the VMT tags are pierced with the help of a harpoon, the MiniSUR are clamped directly to the fin with a clamping device. Neither method of attachment is known to have any negative effects on the sharks.

When removing the tags, however, the two sensor types differ. The MiniSURs detach from the animal after 12 days at the latest and float to the surface – thanks to an integrated buoyancy body. Based on satellite signals, they can be found and collected promptly. The data is read out after the tags have been successfully found.

The VMT tags remain on the shark for up to 10 months. The tags are removed in the same way as they are attached, either by free divers or by hand from a boat. Removal also poses no risk to the sharks. The data is stored and utilized by read-out devices. If it is not possible to remove the tag after 10 months – for example, because the animal has not returned to Guadalupe – the tag remains on the shark, but stops collecting data as soon as the integrated batteries are exhausted. The shark does not suffer any disadvantages by leaving the tag in place.

Unfortunately, tags are lost on a regular basis, whether through accidental detachment due to territorial fights and mating behaviour, changes in migration routes or the death of the animal.

Project history

2015 start of the project 

To fund the project, several Charitiy events already took place:

  • 8 October 2016 in Vienna
  • 3 March 2017 the Shark Noon in Cologne
  • 12 May 2017 in Zurich at the Shark Night in the Masoala Rainforest of the Zurich Zoo
  • 13 October 2018 in Vienna at the Arcotel Wimberger
  • 2019 in Zurich

11 October to 15 October 2017: Epic Shark Expedition/Guadalupe Another 6 VMT`s were set after the Sharkproject expedition by Dr Mauricio Hoyos.

13 October 2018: The documentation on the implementation of the project from the Epic Shark Expedition in October 2017 was presented at the SharkNight Vienna at the Arcotel Wimberger Wien. Present: Dr Mauricio Hoyos, Frederic Buyle and Dr Yannis Peter Papastamatiou (technical support).

Oktober 2018: Epic Shark Expedition/Guadalupe

In 2020, Guadalupe was unfortunately not accessible for us due to Covid. Therefore, none of the VMT's could be removed from the sharks yet. But the exciting footage from the Fincam tags is currently being analysed and evaluated. We are curiously waiting to see what the Great White Sharks have filmed.

September/October 2021: Our Sharkproject-Projectleaders Herbert and Gabriela Futterknecht travelled to Guadalupe to get an overview about the current situation. We will timely announce our further plans to resume the project. 

Guadalupe
Guadalupe
Guadalupe - Fred Buyle, Alex Voyer, Herbert Futterknecht

Migration, Familienbande und Schutz – dem geheimen Leben der Weißen Haie auf der Spur

Great White Mystery

Great White Mystery ist ein wissenschaftliches Forschungsprojekt unter der Leitung von Dr. Mauricio Hoyos, der mithilfe neuer Tags detaillierteres Wissen über die Migrationen von Großen Weißen Haien erhalten möchte. Ziel der Ergebnisse ist es, in Zusammenarbeit mit bestimmten Institutionen, Fangverbotszonen zu errichten.

Der Weiße Hai (Carcharodon carcharias), die funktionale Spitze vieler mariner Nahrungsnetze, ist in den kühlen Küstengewässern und den Weiten des offenen Ozeans beheimatet. Mit einer durchschnittlichen Länge von 4,5 bis 6,5 m gehört er zu den größten Raubfischen der Meere. 

Von der IUCN wird die Art weltweit als „Gefährdet“, regional teilweise sogar als „Stark Gefährdet“ eingestuft. Die Populationszahlen sinken kontinuierlich, somit wird beim nächsten Assessment eine Verschärfung der Einstufung erwartet. Die aktuell größten Gefahren für Weiße Haie – sowie für andere pelagische Arten – liegen in der gezielten, aber auch in der nicht-beabsichtigten Fischerei. Auch die immer drastischeren Auswirkungen der steigenden Wassertemperaturen durch den Klimawandel wirken sich negativ auf die bereits angeschlagenen Populationszahlen aus. 

Fang- sowie Handelsverbote, Ansätze zur Reduktion von Beifang und die gezielte Implementierung von Schutzzonen sind essenziell zur weltweiten Erhaltung der Art. Doch um diese Maßnahmen effizient einzusetzen, muss die Lebensweise der Tiere im Detail bekannt sein. Denn obwohl der Weiße Hai einer der größten Raubfische der Ozeane ist, weiß die Wissenschaft erstaunlich wenig über ihn. Erst in den letzten Jahrzehnten ermöglichten es Fortschritte in Gentechnik und Technologie, mehr über die Tiere und ihr Leben herauszufinden.  

Ausschlaggebend dafür war u.a. die Insel Guadalupe, 240 km vor der Küste von Baja California, Mexiko gelegen. Durch ihre günstige Lage im Kalifornienstrom unterstützen die Gewässer des 2005 gegründeten Biosphärenreservats eine Fülle an Leben aller evolutionären Klassen. Die zerklüfteten Küsten beherbergen außerdem große Kolonien dreier Pinnipedia-Arten. Diese Fülle an Beutetieren wird als einer der Hauptgründe angenommen, warum Weiße Haie hier saisonal so stark vertreten sind. Die Migrationsrouten der Tiere führen meist von den Aufzuchtgebieten vor der Westpazifischen Küste nach Guadalupe. Populationsstudien zeigen, dass junge männliche Haie ab Anfang Juli vermehrt eintreffen. Ab September steigt die Anzahl der gesichteten Weibchen stark an.  

Die Gewässer der Schutzzone werden – neben dem White Shark Café – als einer der wichtigsten Ansammlungsstellen von Weißen Haien im Nordpazifik angesehen. Ausgewachsene Haie sowie Jungtiere zeigen eine starke Standorts- und Migrationstreue. Genetisch ist die lokale Population von den Aggregationen vor Australien und Südafrika distinkt. Für Meeresbiologen und eine stetig wachsende Ökotourismus-Industrie ist die Gegend dank ihres klaren Wassers und der guten saisonalen Vorhersagbarkeit ein idealer Ort, um die Tiere zu beobachten. 

Ein internationales Forschungsteam um den Meeresbiologen Dr. Mauricio Hoyos benutzt neuste Technik aus den Bereichen Telemetrie und Gentechnik, um der Lebensweise der Weißen Haie auf die Spur zu kommen. Ihre wertvollen Erkenntnisse fördern das Verständnis über einen der größten maritimen Jäger unserer Zeit. Außerdem tragen sie maßgeblich zu einem effizienteren und erfolgreicheren Artenschutz bei.

Hintergrundinformationen über das Projekt

Ziele

Sharkproject unterstützt seit 2015 gezielt die Forschungsarbeiten von Dr. Hoyos. Die bereitgestellten Gelder werden zum Erwerb von MiniSur (CATs Fincams) und VMT Tags (Vemco Mobile Transceiver) verwendet, die für Populationsstudien benutzt werden. Die übergeordneten

Ziele des Projekts sind: 

  • Das Erstellen akkurater Migrations- und Aufenthaltsmuster der lokalen Population durch die bereitgestellten MiniSur und VMTs.
  • Die Erweiterung des Verständnisses von inter- (Hai/Beute) und intraspezifischen (Hai/Hai) Interaktionen.
  • Die Nutzung der Daten zum Ausbau von Schutzzonen entlang Migrationsrouten und Sammelstellen.

Dauer

Die Forschungen zu den Verhaltens- und Migrationsweisen der Weißen Haie dauern an. Ein Ende des Projekts ist aktuell nicht geplant. 

Zur Eindämmung der Covid-19-Pandemie wurden Reisen in die Region zeitweise untersagt, was zu Verzögerungen bei der Datensammlung führte. Sharkproject erwartet, dass die Forschungen ab 2022 wieder aufgenommen werden.

Wissenschaftler

Dr. Mauricio Hoyos – Wissenschaftliche Leitung. Zu den Forschungsschwerpunkten des Wissenschaftlers (Sitz in La Paz, Mexiko) zählen Bewegungsmuster und Interaktionen verschiedener Hai-Arten. Seit 2005 konzentriert er sich auf Populationsanalysen Weißer Haie im Nordpazifik, speziell im Biosphärengebiet um Guadalupe.
 
Dr. Yannis Papastamatiou – Technische Leitung. Als Experte für Telemetrie und Tagging unterstützt der Meeresbiologe (Sitz in Florida, USA) verschiedene Projekte mit Schwerpunkt Verhaltens- und Migrationsforschung. Seine Erkenntnisse tragen massiv zum Ausbau von Schutzzonen entlang Migrationsrouten pelagischer Hai-Arten bei.

Fred Buyle – Der bekannte Freitaucher unterstützt das Team um Dr. Hoyos beim Anbringen der Satelliten-Tags und Entnahme von DNA-Proben von Weißen Haien. Seine weitreichenden praktischen Erfahrungen und Fähigkeiten erlauben es ihm, sich den Tieren auf einzigartige Weise zu nähern.

Förderer und Sponsoren

Das Team von Sharkproject wurde bei den Vorbereitungen und Durchführungen der diverseren Shark Night Events mit Sachspenden großzügig unterstützt. Wir danken hier besonders: 

MARES – just add water, SEACAM, Servotel, Kubicek Fördertechnik GmbH, Reisebüro fish&trips, Unterwasserkamera.at, Printshop und Chris Benz  

Im Zuge der Shark Night stellten Servotel und Kubicek Fördertechnik GmbH einen VMT Tag für Dr. Hoyos zur Verfügung.  

Ort

Guadalupe ist eine kleine Insel vulkanischen Ursprungs vor der Westküste Mexikos. Die dramatische Landschaft beheimatet zahlreiche endemische Pflanzen und Vogelarten; viele davon vom Aussterben bedroht.  

Die isolierte Lage im ansonsten turbulenten und strömungsreichen Pazifik macht Guadalupe zu einem Hotspot an Biodiversität. Mehrere Robben- und Seelöwen-Arten sind entlang der geschützten Küsten zu finden. 

Nicht zuletzt deswegen sind hier Weiße Haie in großer Zahl saisonal anzutreffen. Inzwischen gilt die Region als einer ihrer Hauptansammlungsorte im Nordpazifik.

Reisen

Touristische Reisen in das Biosphärenreservat sind stark reguliert und ausschließlich nach Absprache mit der lokalen Regierung möglich. Pro Jahr werden nur eine limitierte Anzahl an Tauchsafaris genehmigt; ein Betreten der Insel ist generell untersagt. Die Reisesaison geht von Juli bis November. 
 
Auf Grund der weiterhin ungewissen Lage durch die Covid-19-Pandemie sind aktuell keine von Sharkproject begleiteten Reisen geplant. Wir halten Euch auf dem Laufenden, wenn neue Termine für Guadalupe feststehen.

Technische Informationen

Telemetrie

Tier-Telemetriestudien ermöglichen Wissenschaftlern das Sammeln einer Vielzahl an Informationen mithilfe von akustischen oder satellitengestützten Sensoren, sogenannten Tags. Sie werden vor allem eingesetzt, um Migrationsmuster pelagischer Arten sichtbar zu machen. Die so entstehenden Bewegungskarten lassen definitive Rückschlüsse über die Lebensweise und Historie der Tiere zu.  

Nicht nur horizontale Migrationen werden durch die Tags sichtbar gemacht, sondern auch die notorisch schwer nachzuvollziehenden vertikalen Bewegungen mariner Arten. So wissen wir inzwischen, dass männliche Weiße Haie vor Guadalupe bis zu 1.200 Metern tief tauchen, Weibchen jedoch wesentlich flacher bleiben. Jede dieser Informationen ist ein kleines Mosaikteil im Bild „Hai als Mysterium“ – die immer präziser werdenden Tagging-Technologien erlauben es uns, dieses Bild nach und nach zu vervollständigen. 
 
Lange ging man davon aus, dass Haie nur eine sehr limitierte Sozialstruktur haben; das Bild des Haies als Einzelgänger hält sich hartnäckig. Auch hier sind die Daten der Tags Grundlage für einen Wandel in unserem Verständnis der Tiere. Intensität und Länge der inter- und intraspezifischen Interaktionen werden aufgezeichnet, ein komplexes Bild des Paarungsverhaltens, sozialen Hierarchien und Beute-Interaktionen werden dadurch sichtbar.   

Telemetriestudien auf der gesamten Welt haben wichtige Einblicke in die Bewegungs- und Verhaltensökologie der Haie geliefert. Dieses Wissen bildet nun die Grundlage, um effektive Schutzstrategien für diese gefährdeten Tiere zu entwickeln. So erlaubten die Tagging-Studien die Ausweitung der Schutzzonen für Weiße Haie im Nordpazifik. Nicht nur ihre Aufzuchtgebiete vor den Küsten Nordamerikas werden nun geschützt, sondern auch ihre Aggregationspunkte vor Guadalupe.

Verwendete Tags und Technologien 

Bei den Forschungsarbeiten vor Guadalupe werden zwei Arten Sensoren benutzt: VEMCO Mobile Transceiver (VMT) und Sonotronics MiniSUR

Der VMT ist ein Hybrid zwischen einem Sender und Empfänger, dieser kann also nicht nur Daten an Stationen senden, sondern auch von diesen empfangen. Die Kommunikation ist mit allen gängigen VEMCO-kodierten Geräten möglich, auch Sender anderer Hersteller können registriert werden.  

Der Erfassungsbereich variiert von wenigen hundert Metern in Küstengewässern, bis zu einem Kilometer im offenen Ozean. Der VMT kann in Tiefen bis zu 1000 Metern betrieben werden und eignet sich für Studien in tiefen Wasserumgebungen. 

Im Nordpazifik befinden sich viele fest installierte Receiver-Stationen sowie eine Vielzahl an stationären Objekten wie FADs oder Bojen, die mit VEMCO-codierten Sendern ausgestattet sind. Dies erlaubt Rückschlüsse über Migrationsrouten und die jeweilige Verweildauer der Haie. Informationen zur Interaktion mit anderen markierten Tieren werden ebenfalls gespeichert. Dies erlaubt es Forschern, die Sozialstrukturen der Haie besser zu verstehen.  

Sonotronics Miniature Submersible Ultrasonic Receiver (MiniSUR) Tags wurden zusätzlich mit Unterwasser-Kameras (FinCams) ausgestattet, um weitere Informationen über das Verhalten der Weißen Haie vor Guadalupe zu sammeln. Bilddaten werden vor allem zur Identifikation nicht-markierter Haie und Beute genutzt. 

Tagging-Vorgang 

Die Weißen Haie werden mittels Köder zu den Forschungsbooten gelockt. Das Anbringen der Tags erfolgt je nach Bauart direkt vom Boot aus oder durch Freitauchende im Wasser. Beide Tag-Arten werden an der Rückenflosse des Tieres verankert; die VMT-Tags werden mithilfe einer Harpune eingestochen, die MiniSUR werden mit einer Klammervorrichtung direkt an die Flosse geklemmt. Bei beiden Anbringungsarten sind keinerlei negativen Auswirkungen auf die Haie bekannt.  

Bei der Entnahme der Tags unterscheiden sich jedoch die beiden Sensoren-Arten. Die MiniSUR lösen sich nach spätestens 12 Tagen vom Tier ab und treiben – dank eines integrierten Auftriebskörpers – an die Oberfläche. Anhand von Satellitensignalen können sie zeitnah gefunden und eingesammelt werden. Das Auslesen der Daten erfolgt nach erfolgreichem Auffinden der Tags. 

Die VMT-Tags verbleiben bis zu 10 Monate am Hai. Die Entnahme der Tags erfolgt wie beim Anbringen entweder durch Freitauchende oder per Hand vom Boot aus. Auch die Entnahme birgt keine Risiken für die Haie. Die Daten werden durch Auslesegeräte gespeichert und verwertet. Sollte eine Entnahme des Tags nach 10 Monaten nicht möglich sein – etwa, weil das Tier nicht nach Guadalupe zurückgekehrt ist – verbleibt der Tag am Hai, hört aber auf, Daten zu sammeln, sobald die integrierten Batterien aufgebraucht sind. Der Hai hat durch ein Verbleiben des Tags keinerlei Nachteile.  

Leider kommt es regelmäßig zu Verlusten der Tags, sei es durch unbeabsichtigtes Ablösen durch Revierkämpfe und Paarungsverhalten, Änderung der Migrationsrouten oder den Tod des Tieres.

Projektverlauf

2015 Projektstart

Um das Projekt zu finanzieren, fanden bereits mehrere Charity-Veranstaltungen statt:

  • 8. Oktober 2016 in Wien
  • 3. März 2017 die Hai Noon in Köln
  • 12. Mai 2017 in Zürich bei der Shark Night im Masoala Regenwald des Zürcher Zoos 
  • 13. Oktober 2018 in Wien im Arcotel Wimberger
  • 2019 in Zürich

11. Oktober bis 15. Oktober 2017: Epic Shark Expedition/Guadalupe, weitere 6 VMTs wurden nach der Sharkproject Expedition von Dr. Mauricio Hoyos gesetzt.

13. Oktober 2018: Die Dokumentation zur Umsetzung des Projekts von der Epic Shark Expedition im Oktober 2017 wurde auf der SharkNight Vienna im Arcotel Wimberger Wien präsentiert. Anwesend: Dr. Mauricio Hoyos, Frederic Buyle und Dr. Yannis Peter Papastamatiou.

Oktober 2018: Epische Hai-Expedition/Guadalupe

2020 war Guadalupe aufgrund der Covid-19-Pandemie leider für uns nicht erreichbar. Daher konnte noch keiner der VMTs von den Haien abgenommen werden. Aber das spannende Filmmaterial von den Fincam-Tags wird derzeit analysiert und ausgewertet. Wir warten gespannt darauf, was die Großen Weißen Haie gefilmt haben.

September/Oktober 2021: Reise der Sharkproject-Projektleiter Herbert und Gabriela Futterknecht nach Guadalupe, um sich einen Überblick über die aktuelle Lage zu verschaffen. Pläne zur Wiederaufnahme und Zukunft des Projekts werden zeitnah bekannt gegeben.

Guadalupe
Guadalupe
Guadalupe - Fred Buyle, Alex Voyer, Herbert Futterknecht