Finning in MSC certified fisheries? Impossible you would think!

Fin Free MSC

The MSC label is supposed to be a sign of sustainable fishing. However, more and more fisheries are being certified that either entirely or partly engage in highly damaging forms of fishing. Because of this, we have already launched the "Make Stewardship Count" campaign with many partners. With the aim to make the MSC to rethink.

From the point of view of a shark conservation organization, however, the situation is even worse. Because fish with the MSC label and the designation "from certified sustainable fisheries" often come from fisheries that still practice "finning". And the MSC still refuses to establish effective precautionary measures to ensure that finning can no longer occur in certified fisheries. One such measure could be the "Fins Naturally Attached" regulation. This means that the fins must still be naturally attached to the body of the animal when it is landed in port, and must therefore no longer be cut off at sea. This measure is considered by global experts to be the most effective against finning.

Unfortunately, the MSC continues to deliberately ignore global expert advice. This completely contradicts MSC's statement that "there remains a zero-tolerance approach to shark finning in fisheries certified by them". Therefore, since 2018, stakeholders from conservation, trade, fisheries and governments have written multiple letters to MSC to correct this almost unimaginable paradox in the fisheries standard and certification practice of arguably the world's largest seafood sustainability label. A central concern was to obtain the withdrawal of the certification of fisheries, such as the PNA (Parties of the Nauru Agreement) tuna fishery in the western Central Pacific, where there is evidence of finning. Unfortunately, however, the MSC has so far not given in and withdrawn the sustainability label from the world's largest MSC-certified tuna fishery. On the contrary, it was even re-certified.

However, as we did not want to give up and instead wanted to exert a more coordinated and targeted influence on the MSC, we launched the international campaign "Fin Free MSC" together with various partners. Under this name, we stand together for a change in their certification standards. To this end, the cooperation partners write joint letters, prepare studies and reports, take part in consultations and coordinate joint social media campaigns.

Goal

Our central demand is to introduce "Fins Naturally Attached as a minimum requirement for all fisheries that catch sharks specifically or have them as by-catch in their fisheries - without exceptions! This requires a comprehensive revision of the MSC standards:

  • Evidence of shark finning must immediately exclude a fishery from the MSC certification process.
  • Any fishery that interacts with sharks in any way must have a "Fins Naturally Attached" policy in place at the time of certification - with no exceptions.
  • The "Fins Naturally Attached" requirement must apply to all assessment policies, regardless of whether the sharks are classified as primary, secondary or ETP species in the assessment.
  • In the assessment, all fisheries that interact with sharks should be subject to an assessment of the risk (low, medium or high) of finning in the fishery, based on objective, verifiable criteria such as target species, gear type and fishing area.
  • The fishery should then be assessed against performance indicators related to shark finning. Where each assessment level (SG 60, 80 and 100) requires a "Fins Naturally Attached" policy, as well as a level of monitoring that is commensurate with the level of risk in that fishery and that increases across assessment levels to incentivize improvement.

Duration

The coalition will continue to fight for this until a rethink has taken place, the demands have been implemented and the MSC label is Fin Free.

Downloads

First letter from 2018 to the MSC

Report from 2018 on PNA fisheries

Second letter of 2019 to the MSC

Submission to the 2019 MSC Consultation

Discussion paper by Iris Ziegler 2020

Third joint letter in January 2020 to the MSC

Fourth joint letter in October 2020 to the MSC

Report 2021: Analysis of the MSC's policy on shark finning and the possibility of adopting a "Fins Naturally Attached" policy as part of their revision of the Fisheries Standard.

Links

Campaign website: https://finfreemsc.com

Sharkproject Webinar: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DTqhPr7Bnok

Live Talk during Shark Awareness Week:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zst6cjIljU8

Involved partners

We work together with various international organizations, scientists and traders. A full list can be found on the Fin Free MSC website.

2018 

Sharkproject has initiated a joint letter to seek the withdrawal of certification from fisheries, such as the PNA (Parties of the Nauru Agreement) tuna fishery in the Western Central Pacific, where there is evidence of finning.

5 October 2018

The MSC receives this letter together with a detailed background briefing - signed by 45 environmental organizations, including the UK retailer Marks & Spencer.

5 April 2019

2nd letter to the MSC - this time from 57 signatories, including many environmental organizations such as Sharkproject, Greenpeace, WildAid, and renowned scientists such as Prof. Callum Roberts and Dr. Catherine Dorey. Also, several retailers such as Migros, Woolworths, fisheries, and the South African Department of Fisheries.

2019

Input from partners in the public consultation launched by MSC on further action against finning. However, MSC ignored the signatories' call for a "Fins Naturally Attached" regulation to be introduced as soon as possible.

2020

Third (57 signatories) and fourth (more than 70 signatories) joint letter. They urge the MSC to finally take action and no longer ignore the concrete demands of stakeholders from environmental protection, trade, industry and science.

2021

MSC Standard Review, with the result that almost 70% of respondents reject their finning policy.

2021

Publication of the report: Analysis of the MSC's policy on shark finning and the possibility of adopting a "Fins Naturally Attached" policy as part of the revision of their Fisheries Standard.

Finning in MSC zertifizierten Fischereien? Unmöglich sollte man glauben!

Fin Free MSC

Das MSC-Siegel soll ja eigentlich ein Zeichen für nachhaltige Fischerei sein. Jedoch werden immer häufiger Fischereien zertifiziert, die entweder ganz oder teilweise höchst schädliche Formen der Fischerei betreiben. Aufgrund dessen haben wir bereits mit vielen Partnern die Kampagne „Make Stewardship Count“ ins Leben gerufen. Mit dem Ziel, das MSC zum Umdenken zu bringen.

Aus Sicht einer Haischutz-Organisation ist die Lage jedoch noch schlimmer. Denn Fisch mit dem MSC-Siegel und der Bezeichnung „aus zertifiziert nachhaltiger Fischerei“ stammt vielfach aus Fischereien, die noch immer „Finning“ betreiben. Und das MSC weigert sich bis heute, wirksame Vorsorgemaßnahmen zu etablieren, um sicherzustellen, dass „Finning“ in zertifizierten Fischereien nicht mehr vorkommen kann. Eine dieser Maßnahmen könnte die “Fins Naturally Attached“ Verordnung sein. Das bedeutet, dass sich die Flossen bei Anlandung im Hafen noch auf natürliche Weise am Körper des Tieres befinden müssen und daher nicht mehr auf See abgeschnitten werden dürfen. Diese Maßnahme gilt unter weltweiten Experten als die wirksamste gegen Finning.

Leider ignoriert das MSC weiterhin bewusst den weltweiten Expertenrat. Dies steht völlig im Widerspruch zu deren eigener Aussage, dass „es nach wie vor einen Null-Toleranz-Ansatz für das Hai-Finning von ihnen zertifizierten Fischereien gibt“. Deshalb haben seit 2018 Interessensvertreter aus Umweltschutz, Handel, Fischerei und Regierungen mehrfach Briefe an das MSC geschrieben, um dieses kaum vorstellbare Paradoxon im Fischereistandard und der Zertifizierungspraxis des wohl weltweit größten Nachhaltigkeitslabels für Fisch und Meeresfrüchte zu korrigieren. Ein zentrales Anliegen dabei war unter anderem, die Rücknahme der Zertifizierung von Fischereien, z.B. der PNA (Parties of the Nauru Agreement) Thunfischfischerei im westlichen Zentralpazifik, zu erwirken, in denen nachgewiesenermaßen „Finning“ stattfindet. Bedauerlicherweise erfolgte aber bisher kein Einlenken seitens des MSCs um dieser weltweit größten, von ihnen zertifizierten Thunfischfischerei das Nachhaltigkeitssiegel zu entziehen. Ganz im Gegenteil wurde diese sogar erneut zertifiziert.

Da wir hier jedoch nicht aufgeben wollten und stattdessen noch koordinierter und gezielter auf das MSC einwirken wollten, haben wir zusammen mit diversen Partnern die internationale Kampagne „Fin Free MSC“ ins Leben gerufen. Unter diesem Namen stehen wir zusammen für eine Änderung ihrer Zertifizierungsstandards ein. Die Kooperationspartner verfassen hierfür gemeinsame Briefe, erstellen Studien und Berichte, nehmen an Konsultationen teil oder koordinieren gemeinsame Social Media Kampagnen.

Hintergrundinformationen über das Projekt

Ziel

Unsere zentrale Forderung ist, "Fins Naturally Attached" als Mindestanforderung für alle Fischereien einzuführen, die Haie gezielt fangen oder als Beifang in ihren Fischereien haben - und zwar ohne Ausnahmen! Dafür bedarf es einer umfassenden Überarbeitung der MSC Standards:

  • Der Nachweis von Hai-Finning muss eine Fischerei sofort vom MSC-Zertifizierungsprozess ausschließen.
  • Jede Fischerei, die in irgendeiner Weise mit Haien interagiert, muss zum Zeitpunkt der Zertifizierung über eine Richtlinie "Fins Naturally Attached" verfügen, die keine Ausnahmen zulässt.
  • Die Anforderung "Fins Naturally Attached" muss für alle Bewertungsrichtlinien gelten, unabhängig davon, ob die Haie bei der Bewertung als primäre, sekundäre oder ETP-Arten eingestuft werden.
  • Bei der Bewertung sollten alle Fischereien, die mit Haien interagieren, einer Bewertung des Risikos (niedrig, mittel oder hoch) des Finning in der Fischerei unterzogen werden, und zwar auf der Grundlage objektiver, überprüfbarer Kriterien wie Zielart, Art des Fanggeräts und Fanggebiet.
  • Die Fischerei sollte dann anhand von Leistungsindikatoren in Bezug auf das Finning von Haien bewertet werden. Wobei für jede Bewertungsstufe (SG 60, 80 und 100) eine "Fins Naturally Attached"- Politik, sowie ein Überwachungsniveau erforderlich ist, das dem Risikoniveau in dieser Fischerei entspricht und das über die Bewertungsstufen ansteigt, um Anreize für Verbesserungen zu schaffen.

Dauer

Die Koalition wird so lange dafür kämpfen, bis ein Umdenken stattgefunden hat, die Forderungen umgesetzt wurden und das MSC-Siegel Fin Free ist.

Downloads

Erster Brief aus 2018 an das MSC

Bericht aus 2018 zur PNA Fischerei

Zweiter Brief 2019 an das MSC

Eingabe bei der MSC Konsultation 2019

Diskussionspapier von Iris Ziegler 2020

Dritter gemeinsamer Brief im Januar 2020 an das MSC

Vierter gemeinsamer Brief im Oktober 2020 an das MSC

Bericht 2021: Analyse der Politik des MSC in Bezug auf das Finning von Haien und die Möglichkeit, im Rahmen deren Überarbeitung des Fischereistandards eine Politik des "Fins Naturally Attached" zu verabschieden.

Links

Webseite der Kampagne: https://finfreemsc.com

Sharkproject Webinar: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DTqhPr7Bnok

Live Talk während der Shark Awareness Week: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zst6cjIljU8

Involvierte Partner

Wir arbeiten hier mit diversen internationalen Organisationen, Wissenschaftlern und Händlern zusammen. Eine vollständige Liste ist auf der Fin Free MSC Webseite zu finden.

Projektverlauf

2018 

Sharkproject hat einen gemeinsamen Brief initiiert, um die Rücknahme der Zertifizierung von Fischereien, z.B. der PNA (Parties oft the Nauru Agreement) Thunfischfischerei im westlichen Zentralpazifik, zu erwirken, in denen nachgewiesenermaßen „Finning“ stattfindet.

5. Oktober 2018

Das MSC erhält diesen Brief zusammen mit einem ausführlichen Hintergrund Briefing – unterzeichnet von 45 Umweltschutzorganisationen sowie dem englischen Einzelhändler Marks & Spencer.

5. April 2019

2. Brief an das MSC – diesmal von 57 Unterzeichnern, darunter viele Umweltschutzorganisationen wie Sharkproject, Greenpeace, WildAid und namhaften Wissenschaftlern wie Prof. Callum Roberts und Dr. Catherine Dorey. Außerdem mehrere Einzelhändler wie Migros, Woolworths, Fischereien, und das südafrikanische Fischereiministerium.

2019

Beitrag der Partner bei der vom MSC gestarteten öffentlichen Konsultation zu weiteren Maßnahmen gegen „Finning“. MSC ignorierte dabei aber die von den Unterzeichnern geforderte, schnellstmögliche Einführung einer „Fins Naturally Attached“ Verordnung.

2020

Dritter (57 Unterzeichner) und vierter (mehr als 70 Unterzeichner) gemeinsamer Brief. Diese fordern das MSC dringendst auf, jetzt endlich aktiv zu werden und die konkreten Forderungen der Interessensvertreter aus Umweltschutz, Handel, Industrie und Wissenschaft nicht länger zu ignorieren.

2021

MSC Standard Review mit dem Ergebnis, dass fast 70 % der Befragten deren Finning Policy ablehnen.

2021

Veröffentlichung des Reports: Analyse der Politik des MSC in Bezug auf das Finning von Haien und die Möglichkeit, im Rahmen der Überarbeitung ihres Fischereistandards eine Politik des "Fins Naturally Attached" zu verabschieden.