In the USA, marine biologists are researching the “nursery of the Great White Sharks” and developing proposals to protect the animals

White Shark Nursery

Even the mighty Great White Wharks started out small. The “White Shark Nursery” research project in Montauk Point (USA) takes a close look at the “nursery” of these animals. This is where many white sharks spend their first years of life. As babies, they are about 1.40 metres tall; an adult Great White Shark can grow to between three and six metres.

When an alarming number of small White Sharks died in the nets of fishermen in Montauk Bay, the marine biologists of the O'Seas Conservation Foundation, led by Dr Craig O'Connell, started the first systematic studies on the young sharks in the bay.
Since 2017, Sharkproject has been supporting Craig O'Connell's research on the “nursery” of Great White Sharks. The aim is to gather more knowledge about the life of the young Great White Sharks: At what depths do the animals stay and at what time of day? What do they eat? And how long do they stay in the “nursery, Montauk Bay”?

Craig O'Connell's team uses special underwater cameras, so-called “Baited Remote Underwater Camera Systems” (BRUVS). These are installed near prey bait and film what swims by. So far, it is known that smooth dogfish are among the most important prey of White Sharks. “If we know more about the sharks' behaviour and about their preferred prey, we can better protect great white sharks,” says Eleanor Spencer from SHARKPROJECT. “That's why we support Craig O'Connell's research.”

Background Information about the Project

Aims

  • Developing targeted protection measures that take effect exactly when the White Sharks are in the bay.
  • Collect more detailed information about the Smooth Dogfish in the bay. They are the main prey of the Great White Sharks.
  • Develop targeted protection measures for Smooth Dogfish based on the knowledge gained. If you protect the prey, you also protect the Great White Sharks.

Location

Atlantic Coast of the USA
Montauk Point, New York

Duration

  • A continuation study will continue the results of the first research phase for another three years until 2024.
  • An interim status of the project is expected by summer/autumn 2021.
  • Further, funding by Sharkproject is initially planned until the end of 2021. There may be an extension.

Scientists

  • Dr Craig O'Connell, marine biologist, founder and director of the O'Seas Conservation Foundation in Montauk Bay, USA. Associate Professor, University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth
  • Julia Crews, marine biologist, Coastal Carolina University
  • Juliet Gressle, Marine Biologist, O'Seas Conservation Foundation

Links

www.oseasfdn.org/projects

The website of the “O'Seas Conservation Foundation” informs about the research projects, the youth camps and the objectives of marine biologist Craig O'Connell and his team.

Conflicts with the fishermen

Unfortunately, the cameras are stolen again and again. In one season, for example, eight of these cameras with a total value of 8,000 dollars were lost.
This repeatedly sets back the work of Craig O'Connell and his team.

Conflicts between fishermen, who fear for their income, and conservationists occur again and again. Even though understanding is often not easy, the “O'Seas Conservation Foundation” continues to rely on dialogue with local fishermen. It is also important for Sharkproject that both sides find an understanding for each other's points of view.

As Craig O'Connell reports, progress has been made in recent years. “There is more and more understanding among the fishermen that sharks are important for a balanced ecosystem and, in the long run, for more fish in the bay,” says the marine biologist.

Technical Information

BRUVS

Since 2013, the O'Seas Conservation Foundation has been working with about 14 to 20 different BRUVS : underwater cameras are fixed in open water near a prey lure from May to November in Montauk Bay in the US state of New York. What passes by, in this case what swims by, is filmed like a wild camera on land. The cameras are used daily, up to 16 hours a day. The sharks can be identified by the markings and scars on their dorsal fin.

The water depth, the water temperature, the moon phase or the tide are always measured as well. The aim is to find out when and where the sharks can be found. It is also important to know which environmental conditions the sharks prefer.

Project History

SHARKPROJECT has been funding Craig O'Connell's research in Montauk Bay since 2017

The first scientific results were published in the “Marine Technology Society Journal” in February 2021

Contacts have been established with the local Fisheries and Environmental Protection Agency 

With the Corona crisis, research became much more difficult. Part of the research is funded by youth camps, which have not been able to take place for months

SHARKPROJECT has therefore sought continued funding for the project even during the Corona crisis. Currently, (as of May 2021), work is underway to pick up where the research left off before the Corona Crisis

May 2021: The New York Heritage Program (New York State Environmental Protection Agency) has given greater priority to the protection of white sharks in Montauk Bay and intends to use the data from the Nursery Project for systematic sighting monitoring of white sharks in Montauk Bay in the future

Erforschung der "Kinderstube der Weißen Haie" und Entwicklung von Vorschlägen zum Schutz der Tiere

White Shark Nusery

Auch die mächtigen Weißen Haie haben einmal klein angefangen. Die „Kinderstube” dieser Tiere nimmt das Forschungsvorhaben „White Shark Nursery“ in Montauk Point (USA) unter die Lupe. Dort verbringen viele Weiße Haie ihre ersten Lebensjahre. Als Baby sind sie etwa 1,40 Meter groß, ein ausgewachsener Großer Weißer Hai kann zwischen drei und sechs Metern groß werden.

Als alarmierend viele kleine Weiße Haie in den Stellnetzen der Fischer in der Bucht von Montauk verendeten, starteten die Meeresbiologen der "O’Seas Conservation Foundation“ unter der Leitung von Dr. Craig O'Connell erste systematische Untersuchungen über die jungen Haie in der Bucht.

Seit 2017 unterstützt Sharkproject die Forschungen von Craig O’Connell zur „Kinderstube“ der Weißen Haie. Es geht darum, mehr Wissen über das Leben der jungen Weißen Haie zu sammeln: In welchen Tiefen halten sich die Tiere zu welcher Tageszeit auf? Was fressen sie? Und wie lange bleiben sie in der "Kinderstube Montauk Bay"?

Das Team um Craig O’Connell nutzt dazu spezielle Unterwasserkameras, sogenannte “Baited Remote Underwater Camera Video System” (BRUVS). Diese werden in der Nähe von Beuteködern installiert und filmen, was vorbeischwimmt. Bisher bekannt ist, dass vor allem Glatthaie zu den wichtigsten Beutetieren der Weißen Haie zählen. “Wenn wir mehr über das Verhalten der Haie und über ihre bevorzugte Beute wissen, können wir die Weißen Haie besser schützen”, sagt Eleanor Spencer von Sharkproject. “Deshalb unterstützen wir die Untersuchungen von Craig O’Connell.”

Hintergrundinformationen über das Projekt

Ziele

  • Gezielte Schutzmaßnahmen erarbeiten, die genau dann greifen, wenn die Weißen Haie in der Bucht sind.
  • Genauere Informationen über die Glatthaie in der Bucht sammeln. Sie sind die Hauptbeutetiere der Weißen Haie.
  • Gezielte Schutzmaßnahmen für Glatthaie auf Basis der gewonnenen Erkenntnisse entwickeln. Wer die Beute schützt, schützt auch die Weißen Haie.

Ort

Atlantikküste der USA 
Montauk Point, New York 

Dauer

  • Eine Fortsetzungsstudie soll die Ergebnisse des ersten Forschungsabschnitts für weitere drei Jahre bis 2024 weiterführen. 
  • Ein Zwischenstand des Projekts wird bis Sommer/Herbst 2021 erwartet. 
  • Weitere Förderungen durch Sharkproject sind vorerst bis Ende 2021 geplant. Eventuell gibt es eine Verlängerung. 

Wissenschaftlerinnen/Wissenschaftler

  • Dr. Craig O’Connell, Meeresbiologe, Gründer und Leiter der “O’Seas Conservation Foundation” in Montauk Bay, USA. Außerordentlicher Professor “University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth.”
  • Julia Crews, Meeresbiologin, “Coastal Carolina University”
  • Juliet Gressle, Meeresbiologin, “O’Seas Conservation Foundation”

Links

www.oseasfdn.org/projects

Die Website der "O’Seas Conservation Foundation" informiert über die Forschungsprojekte, die Jugendcamps und die Zielsetzungen des Meeresbiologen Craig O’Connell und seines Teams.

Konflikte mit Fischern

Leider werden die Kameras immer wieder gestohlen. So gingen in einer Saison acht Kameras mit einem Gesamtwert von 8.000 Dollar verloren. 

Das wirft die Arbeiten von Craig O’Connell und seinem Team immer wieder zurück. 

Konflikte zwischen Fischern, die um ihr Einkommen fürchten, und Naturschützern kommen immer wieder vor. Auch wenn die Verständigung oft nicht einfach ist, setzt die "O’Seas Conservation Foundation" weiter auf den Dialog mit den lokalen Fischern. Auch für Sharkproject ist es wichtig, dass beide Seiten ein Verständnis für die jeweiligen Standpunkte der anderen finden. 

Wie Craig O’Connell berichtet, hat es in den vergangenen Jahren dabei Fortschritte gegeben. "Bei den Fischern gibt es immer mehr Verständnis dafür, dass Haie wichtig sind, für ein ausgeglichenes Ökosystem und auf lange Sicht auch für mehr Fischreichtum in der Bucht", so der Meeresbiologe. 

Technische Informationen

BRUVS

Seit 2013 arbeitet die O’Seas-Schutz-Stiftung mit etwa 14 bis 20 unterschiedlichen BRUVS (Baited Remote Underwater Systems): Im offenen Wasser in der Nähe eines Beuteköders werden von Mai bis November in der Montauk Bai im US-Staat New York Unterwasserkameras fixiert. Gefilmt wird, wie bei einer Wildkamera an Land, was vorbeikommt, in diesem Fall vorbeischwimmt. Die Kameras werden täglich eingesetzt, bis zu 16 Stunden am Tag. Dabei können die Haie anhand der Zeichnungen und Narben an der Rückenflosse identifiziert werden.

Gemessen wird immer auch die Wassertiefe, die Wassertemperatur, die Mondphase oder die Tide. Ziel ist es, herauszufinden, wann und wo die Haie anzutreffen sind. Wichtig ist dabei auch zu wissen, welche Umweltbedingungen die Haie bevorzugen.

Projektverlauf

Seit 2017 fördert Sharkproject die Untersuchungen von Craig O’Connell in der Montauk Bai.

Erste wissenschaftliche Ergebnisse wurden im Februar 2021 im “Marine Technology Society Journal” publiziert.

Kontakte zur örtlichen Fischerei- und Umweltschutzbehörde wurden geknüpft.

Mit der Coronakrise wurden die Forschungen deutlich erschwert. Ein Teil der Forschungen wird durch Jugendcamps finanziert, die seit Monaten nicht mehr stattfinden können.

Sharkproject hat sich deshalb auch während der Coronakrise um eine Weiterförderung des Projekts bemüht. Seit Mai 2021 wird daran gearbeitet, an die Forschungen vor der Coronakrise anzuknüpfen.

Mai 2021: Das “New York Heritage Program” (Umweltschutzbehörde des US-Staates New York) hat den Schutz der Weißen Haie in Montauk Bay stärker priorisiert und will künftig die Daten aus dem Nursery Projekt für ein systematisches Sichtungsmonitoring der Weißen Haie in Montauk Bay nutzen.